Home Mission Contact Profile



Writing Tips


The International English Language Testing System, commonly known as IELTS, assesses the language ability of candidates who wish to study or work where English is the medium of communication. IELTS is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL), the British Council, and IDP:IELTS Australia.

Note: As of 2017, requirements for immigration and university entrance have changes.

Official Website: www.ielts.org  ; IELTS handbook ; Useful Website: www.ielts-test.com

English language learners are required to reach certain IELTS standards in order to pursue academic studies in English speaking countries. IELTS is recognised by universities and employers in the UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the USA. It is also required by immigration authorities.

Accordingly, there are two types of IELTS test:

General IELTS is necessary for immigration purposes

Academic IELTS is necessary for entering university

The Test

All candidates must complete four Modules - Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking Modules. Candidates have a choice between General and Academic in the Reading and Writing Modules.

Listening: Four Sections, 40 Items, 30 Minutes
General Reading: Three Sections, 40 Items, 60 Minutes
Academic Reading Three  Sections, 40 Items, 60 Minutes
General Writing: Two tasks (150 and 250 words), 60 Minutes
Academic Writing: Two tasks (150 and 250 words), 60 Minutes
Speaking: 11 to 14 minutes

Total Test Time: 2 hours 45 minutes

The first three modules - Listening, Reading, and Writing - must be completed in one day. The Speaking Module may be taken, at the discretion of the test centre, in the period seven days before or after the other Modules.

Copyright © 2007 WritingCorrection.com
Last modified: 02-11-2013